Six Months of Awesome

I’m having a hard time writing about motherhood.  It’s too much.  I feel all of the things (mostly intense joy).  Also, the “mom brain” phenomenon that I heard about has hit me hard, and I’m not my most articulate self lately.  I’m not so much with the words.  It’s sad, but I’m hopeful that it won’t be a permanent condition.

Our sweet boy turned six months old last Friday in the midst of two weeks of travel and hosting and babysitting, so now I sit down to write about this milestone…and I just…there are no words big enough to describe my thoughts on this subject.  Benjamin is feisty and social and hilarious.  He loves to snuggle but he also loves to move. He is as wild as his hair would suggest and as sweet as his smile would indicate.  He sleeps like a champ and eats as though he’s certain each feeding will be his last.  He’s very verbal and laughs a lot.  He is DETERMINED.  He has a wide range of dramatic facial expressions.  He loves to grab everything in sight (his favorite is having two fistfuls of someone’s hair).  He fights naps because he doesn’t want to miss anything.  He loves music and the great outdoors.  His eyes light up when he’s in a new place or has a new experience (most recently starting solid foods).

He has the ability to completely wear us out, but he has brought us more joy than we ever could have imagined.  Benjamin has taught us so much about our Creator.  Bryan and I are so thankful for this beautiful, vivacious boy and humbled that God chose us to be his parents.  And since a picture is worth a thousand words, here are a few that express the past six months a bit better than I can…

*Note:  The pictures on the striped rug are his monthly pictures, starting with 1 month old.

IMG_5839

IMG_6337

IMG_5907

IMG_5909

IMG_5913

IMG_5962

IMG_6058

IMG_6170

IMG_6529

IMG_6140

IMG_6304

IMG_6640

14119C96-ED55-45F0-AD9E-06BA95461CEF IMG_6741 IMG_0004 IMG_6733 IMG_0160 IMG_0082 IMG_0098 IMG_0180 IMG_0396

 

IMG_0464 copyIMG_0216IMG_0226 IMG_0349 IMG_0347-1 IMG_0497 IMG_0487 IMG_0358 IMG_0584 IMG_0593-1 IMG_0657

One response

Leave a Reply

