What’s on my Bookshelf

Thank you for your encouragement after my last post.  Pawpaw is home now and receiving excellent care.  Today I’m joining a blog link up on Modern Mrs. Darcy’s site.  She posed the question, “What’s on your bookshelf?”  How could I pass up an opportunity to respond?!

Pictured is my favorite bookshelf in our apartment.  This summer we moved from a sleepy college town to the Big City, and it’s been…an adjustment.  It’s only been a matter of weeks, really, that I’ve started to feel like this place is home.  When I saw this built-in bookshelf, I could picture myself living here.  And, sure enough, it has become a favorite feature of our new home.

Bookshelf

A few highlights:

Prayer by Richard Foster

This isn’t a spiritual self-help book.  Each chapter stands alone, so you don’t necessarily have to read them in order.  I read this for a class, and it really enriched my prayer life.

Sailing Alone Around the Room by Billy Collins

The poetry of Billy Collins is so interesting and accessible that even my poetry-hating husband doesn’t mind it.  🙂

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

Once you get past all the crazy names, this is a beautiful story of destruction and redemption.  It’s timeless.

The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy

This novel is heartbreaking and vivid.  I was so captivated by the setting, too.  Roy’s descriptions are glorious.

The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis

The imagination of C.S. Lewis blows my mind.  I saw spiritual warfare from a different angle when I read this.  It’s brilliant.

I could go on all day, but (alas) I’m out of time.  What have you enjoyed reading?  I’d love suggestions.  🙂

6 responses

  1. Love that built-in bookshelf. The God of Small Things broke my heart too. And oh, how I love Billy Collins. (I participated in this linkup too – so much fun.)

Leave a Reply

