Day Nine: Friends of All Ages, Part II

Thirty is looming for me now, and what I’ve heard from friends is that the thirties are a truly wonderful time.  Many people feel more self-assured in their thirties.  You have a much better idea of what you stand for and what kind of a person you want to be than you did in your twenties.  You have a few things figured out.  Maybe you’re a homeowner, or you’re doing well professionally.  Maybe you have a spouse and/or offspring.

It seems to me that this confidence increases the older you get.  Have you ever had a conversation with someone in their eighties?  They’ve got nothing to prove to anyone!  In some ways, I really look forward to that–should God grant me that many years.  It’s exhausting at times to be where I am–making personal and professional decisions and figuring out which roads to take.  I have a lot to learn from older friends who have been through the crossroads that are still in front of me.

Anne Bogel is writing a thoughtful series on mentoring.  I encourage you to check it out.  It has prompted me to think about what a mentoring relationship could look like in my life.  I am thinking about coworkers or perhaps someone at church now that we are ready to get more involved there.  Have you had a mentoring relationship that has blessed your life?  I’d love to hear about it…

Leave a Reply

