Day Eight: Friends of All Ages, Part I

I have a close knit family, so I’ve always been around people of various ages.  I love spending time with my grandparents and younger cousins and aunts and uncles.  But I try to be intentional about also developing friendships with people who are in different phases of life that I am.  This is something I want to work on.  🙂

In the job I had before we moved to The Big City, I interacted with college freshmen almost every day.  I loved hearing what was on their hearts.  I would dare to say few times in life are more terrifying and more thrilling than being a college freshman.  They are adjusting to their new found freedom and lack of structure, and that can be overwhelming.  They are also figuring out what to study, who to spend time with and what direction their lives are going to go.

Emily Dickinson said, “I dwell in possibility.”  I think she was an INFP like me.  For this type of person, college can be amazing.  It was good for me to be around these folks and get back in touch with the part of myself that wants to be challenged and is always looking for adventure.  I want to maintain a bit of that youthful spirit throughout my life.  Being around college kids like this fellow truly inspires me.

IMG_3708

Leave a Reply

