Day Seven: The Friends Who Go Before Us

Lisa is the closest thing to a big sister I’ve ever had.  She is only a few months older than me, but she has always been much more mature.  🙂  I love many things about her, but something that has always stood out to me is how she makes me (and others) feel really understood.  She is a very selfless individual.  She’s brilliant and humble and has a steadiness and confidence that shines through despite her soft spoken nature.  I never feel intimidated by her gifts.  She has a way of putting me at ease.  

We lived across the hall from each other freshman year and were roommates sophomore through senior year.  The summer after graduation, when I was spending the week in San Diego helping to prepare for her wedding, I found out from her mom  that she had decided that first semester I was someone she wanted to befriend.  I can’t tell you how special that made me feel.  Throughout our time as roommates, Lisa saw me through a lot.  I’ve always been able to share my weaknesses with her because she knows my heart and accepts me as I am.  She was the person I could count on to see the good and not judge me when I was being stupid—and still is, as a matter of fact.  She gives great advice but never unsolicited, and her kind spirit reminds me to give people the benefit of the doubt and look for the good in challenging situations.

I was always the trailblazer in my family as the oldest child.  My younger siblings could learn from my experiences and feel more confident going forward.  Well, Lisa is that person for me.  I remember being a college student and thinking that the idea of getting married sounded so intimidating.  When Lisa got engaged to her college sweetheart, she asked me to be her maid of honor.  I got a front row seat on the roller coaster of planning and preparation that is engagement.  I saw how good it can be despite the challenges when you choose the right person and seek God together.  It would be a while later that I would take that step, but when the time came, I was more prepared having watched Lisa go down that road first.  Seeing someone so close to me go through that transition made it real for me.  She was still the same person after she got married, and that helped me understand that I would be, too.  

Almost three years ago, she had her first child.  They named her Kara.  You can read about it here.  When her husband told me on the phone I didn’t believe him right away.  You just became a father!  How can you joke at a time like this? I thought.  🙂  I feel so honored to be little Kara’s aunt and namesake.

Since Lisa is the one who told me about the 31 Days challenge and encouraged me to participate, I thought it only fitting that I post about her.  Thank you, dear friend, for being the one who goes before me.  

064

One response

Leave a Reply

