Day Six: Long Distance Friendships

Some of my dearest friends have lived thousands of miles apart from each other since we graduated from college back in the mid 2000s.  We have lived in Vietnam, Costa Rica, Italy, Canada and Northern California, respectively.  It can be really cool to hear about life in places that I’ve never lived and maybe even visit, but sometimes we just wish we all lived closer to each other.  It’s frustrating.

I’ve never been a huge fan of long phone conversations.  There’s Skype and FaceTime and Google Hangout.  There’s g-chat and Instagram and Facebook and email.  Even the occasional letter or package.  But nothing compares to face to face conversations with real hugs and walking places together and uninterrupted quality time (have you guessed yet that this is my number one love language?).  The last time we were all in the same place was at my wedding at the end of 2011.  The next time will likely be next summer for another wedding.  What better excuse than true love?  🙂

There is so much more I could say on this topic.  I think it’s easy for me to feel sorry for myself that I don’t have my closest girlfriends from college nearby like some girls do.  This month I’m celebrating friendship, and I want to practice thankfulness here tonight.  Yes, long distance friendships are hard, but you know what?  I’m so grateful to have friends I love so much that I’m sad I don’t get to see them every single day.  I am grateful that I still feel close with these wonderful women years later–despite the geographic distance between us.  I am so thankful for the technology that allows me to stay involved with their lives between visits.

On Wednesday, I have a phone date scheduled with my wonderful friend, Sarah, who is working on her PhD in Canada.  Instead of being bummed that I can’t sit with her and share a pot of coffee, I am going to be thankful that we always have such wonderful talks.  Ultimately, the distance between all of us just makes our time together more special.  I can’t wait for next summer!

Besties

Leave a Reply

