Still Celebrating

My one word for this year is celebrate, and I’ve had some great opportunities recently to do just that.

What a memorable couple of weeks it has been!  We have shared lots of celebrating, family, food, siteseeing and Spanish speaking.  Sometimes a picture is worth a thousand words, so here are a few thousand…

The graduates being hooded--this is actually the morning ceremony.  My cousin is the redhead somewhere in the front section.  :)  Proud of you, Zack!

The graduates being hooded–this is actually the morning ceremony. My cousin is the redhead somewhere in the front section. 🙂 Proud of you, Zack!

We loved hosting everyone at our house for lunch between ceremonies.  One last family gathering at Casa Rodriguez before we move (sigh)

We loved hosting everyone at our house for lunch between ceremonies. One last family gathering at Casa Rodriguez before we move (sigh)

A much anticipated moment

A much anticipated moment

My husband is a rockstar.

My husband is a rockstar.

We toured Fort Worth with Bryan's mom and grandma.

We toured Fort Worth with Bryan’s mom and grandma.

Ladies and gentlemen, my awesome Mother-in-Law.  :)

Ladies and gentlemen, my awesome Mother-in-Law. 🙂

Abuela wanted to arrive at the airport in Costa Rica wearing a Texas shirt.  She's a fan.

Abuela wanted to arrive at the airport in Costa Rica wearing a Texas shirt. She’s a fan.

In other news, I got a job this week!  It’s been quite a whirlwind.  Driving back yesterday after saying goodbye to Bryan’s mom and grandma at the airport and house hunting in the afternoon, it started to hit me how soon we are leaving (and how much we have to pack).  Also, we saw a tornado.  The wide open West Texas sky was a spectacular backdrop for the stormy sunset as we drove along the familiar interstate highway.  My whirling thoughts stopped for a little while, and I was just present; experiencing the storm with Bryan and marveling at the power of God.  I embraced my conflicting emotions and made peace with the silence as we watched the lightning flash in the orange glow of the sinking sun.

"That almost looks like a tornado." I said.  A few minutes later, we saw car after car pulled over and people snapping pictures with fancy cameras.  "It IS a tornado!"

“That almost looks like a tornado.” I said. A few minutes later, we saw car after car pulled over and people snapping pictures with fancy cameras. “It IS a tornado!”

Stormy sunset

I've never seen anything quite like it.

I’ve never seen anything quite like it.

More thoughts on the upcoming move soon…  I hope you all are feeling as blessed as I am this afternoon.  🙂

Leave a Reply

