Cambio

I like the Spanish word for change.  Cambio.  Given the meaning, it seems like a word that should have more than one syllable.  One syllable is so final.  I prefer to ease into it.  C.a.m.b.i.o. 

In my social work studies, I learned that any major life event can be defined as a “crisis”.  We typically assign this word a negative connotation, but it is defined as “a stage in a sequence of events at which the trend of all future events, especially for better or for worse, is determined; turning point.” (dictionary.com)  One professor had us take a stress test of sorts.  It was a long list of potential crises that one could experience–job change, move, relationship change, graduation, etc.–positive and negative intermingled.  At the end, we were instructed to add up the number of crises we had experienced in the past year.  The higher the score, the higher your risk for unhealthy stress and anxiety.

Many people experience several other crises alongside getting married.  A marriage is often accompanied by a move to a new city (or even a new state or country) and/or a graduation.  I am thankful that this was not the case for us.  When we got married, we moved into our little casita in the same city where we had both been living for a year and a half.  I stayed at my job, and Bryan continued on as a student.  We have been given the gift of time to focus on adjusting to marriage.  Let’s face it.  Change is hard even when it’s exciting and joyful.  Now we are anticipating another new chapter; a turning point.  I look forward to my husband’s graduation for a myriad of reasons, but I am admittedly nervous, too.  It’s human nature, isn’t it?

The lesson that God is teaching me over and over again is trust and be patient.  It seems that no matter how many times He provides for me, in a time of uncertainty, I forget this truth.  How incredibly blessed we are that God never gives up on us.  When I see change on the horizon and questions fill my head and anxiety starts to rise up inside me, God is there to remind me again that I am his beloved child.  Everything is going to be okay.  I have this sign on a shelf in my office facing the chairs where my clients sit.  Sometimes I need it, too.  Office shelf

Leave a Reply

