2012

Here is my belated reflection.  I want to look back on 2012 for a moment and remember some highlights through pictures.

We came back from our honeymoon and Christmas with Bryan's family just in time for my  Dad's retirement party.

We came back from our honeymoon and Christmas with Bryan’s family just in time for my Dad’s retirement party.

My college girlfriends are becoming moms!  This is our first time meeting Miss Brynn, the firstborn of my dear friend, Erin.  Precious!

My college girlfriends are becoming moms! This is our first time meeting Miss Brynn, the firstborn of my friend, Erin. Precious!

I started setting up the house.  It's so much fun having my own kitchen!  These canisters are one of my favorite kitchen items.  They hold the essentials—flour, sugar, rice and coffee beans.

I started setting up the house. It’s so much fun having my own kitchen! These canisters are one of my favorite kitchen items. They hold the essentials—flour, sugar, rice and coffee beans.

IMG_2044

Our first Valentine’s Day as husband and wife called for a dessert date. 🙂

Sarah and I have lived far away from each other ever since college, but we are still very close.  We were blessed to have her visit in February.  It was a blast!

Sarah and I have lived far away from each other ever since college, but we are still very close. We were blessed to have her visit in February. It was a blast!

Two amazing trips were the highlight of the year.  The first was visiting our dear friends, Lisa and Dusty and, of course, Baby Kara in Northern California during our spring break.

Three amazing trips were some of the year’s biggest highlights. The first was visiting our dear friends, Lisa and Dusty and, of course, Baby Kara in Northern California during our spring break.

It was the most snow Bryan had ever seen, and he loved every minute of it.  I'd also like to point out that this is one of my all time favorite pictures of him.

It was the most snow Bryan had ever seen, and he loved every minute of it. I’d also like to point out that this is one of my all time favorite pictures of him, even though it doesn’t display his famous beautiful hair.

We love this family and their beautiful backyard.  We can't wait to go back!

We love this family and their beautiful backyard. We can’t wait to go back!

We have loved getting to work in the church nursery this year.  This is a picture of Bryan with the twin boys from church that we got to babysit!  It was equal parts fun and exhausting. :)

We have loved getting to work in the church nursery this year. This is a picture of Bryan with the twin boys from church that we got to babysit! It was equal parts fun and exhausting. 🙂

In May, Brother graduated from high school!

In May, Brother graduated from high school!

We were able to spend several weeks in Costa Rica in July.  I love my Costa Rican familia!  :)

We were able to spend several weeks in Costa Rica in July. I love my Costa Rican familia! 🙂

This trip was extra exciting because my sister, Katie, was able to come...

This trip was extra exciting because my sister, Katie, was able to come…

And so were our dear friends, Derek and Rachel.  :)

And so were our dear friends, Derek and Rachel. 🙂

DSC_0706

DSC_0092

These guys were everywhere in Manuel Antonio national park, near the beach. Oh little Capuchin, you make me smile.

In the fall, we started the process of getting Bryan a green card.  (Don't worry—his student visa doesn't expire for awhile.)

In the fall, we started the process of getting Bryan a green card. (Don’t worry—his student visa doesn’t expire for awhile.)

In October, my dear college friend, Andrea came to visit.  She had just returned from two years in Italy working as a missionary, and she brought a souvenir--her boyfriend, Dario.

In October, my dear college friend, Andrea came to visit. She had just returned from two years in Italy working as a missionary, and she brought a souvenir–her boyfriend, Dario.

Katie and her boyfriend, David, came to visit us, which was wonderful right up until the injury.

Katie and her boyfriend, David, came to visit us, which was wonderful right up until the injury.

photo-3

We enjoyed a beautiful fall and Thanksgiving with my family. This is my favorite tree in the front yard at my parents’ house.

We spent our one year wedding anniversary in the Hill Country.  Fredericksburg is magical at Christmastime.  :)

We spent our one year wedding anniversary in the Hill Country. Fredericksburg is magical at Christmastime. 🙂

We took a day trip to San Antonio to stroll along the Riverwalk and enjoy some delicious Mexican food.

We took a day trip to San Antonio to stroll along the Riverwalk and enjoy some delicious Mexican food.

We got snow on Christmas morning!

It snowed on Christmas morning!

Most importantly, we got to spend time with my grandparents, aunts uncles and cousins.  This is Granny Betts.  I think she's the most photogenic in the whole family.  Next year we're hoping Bryan's family can come for the holidays!

Most importantly, we got to spend time with my grandparents, aunts uncles and cousins. This is Granny Betts. I think she’s the most photogenic in the whole family. Next year we’re hoping Bryan’s family can come for the holidays!

Wow, just looking through these pictures and reliving the experiences is a delightful reminder of the blessings in my life.  That’s a nice segue to my next post, as a matter of fact.  I will be revealing my ONE WORD for 2013.

I started this blog about halfway through 2012, and it has already been so rewarding.  I’ve gotten to know some amazing writers and had the honor of doing a couple of guest posts.  I have a post coming up about my hesitation to join to world of blogging despite my longtime blog reading nerdiness.  I’m so glad I decided to take the leap.  It has far exceeded my expectations, and I look forward to seeing where this adventure takes me in the coming year.  Thank you for reading and for your encouragement and feedback.  I love hearing from you.  Now onward to 2013!

2 responses

  1. I love this, Kara! What a wonderful way to express and relive memories through images! — And, I feel so honored to have made the list 🙂 Let’s please catch up soon! Miss you! Sarah

Leave a Reply

