Catharsis

Good morning, dear ones!  Today I’m sharing a post that I wrote for the WONDERFUL folks at (in)courage.  I am so honored to be featured here.  I love visiting their website because it makes you feel like you’re snuggled up on the couch with a mug of something hot and delicious having a heartwarming conversation with a trusted friend.  Please click over to read my thoughts on crying (it’s more upbeat than it sounds) and explore the inspirational thoughts of the ladies who write for this wonderful website.  http://www.incourage.me/?p=42966

Happy November, by the way!  🙂

5 responses

  1. I’ve always wondered what was wrong with me that it was so easy for me to cry–for happy reasons, sad reasons, what others were going through. Even in high school I was told that I was just too emotional. But reading your article made me feel like my deep feelings are actually gift a from God and that I shouldn’t try to keep those tears inside. Thank you helping me to accept that I’m really all right, despite those tears that come so easily in so many different situations.

  2. Kara, ten years ago a brain tumor left me with the inability to tear from my right eye. It also left me completely deaf in my right ear. The deafness is annoying and frustrating at times. A disability that no one can see and often sparks rude remarks when I let someone know (usually to inform them that I may ask for them to repeat themselves or speak up). However the absence of crying in my pillow, blowing my nose from so many tears, and just having a good cry is an emotion that I so sincerely miss!! It is like someone took half my emotions away, truly!! I am blessed that that brain tumor did not kill me…I know God was sick of my eavesdropping on conversations (can’t hear them anymore)…but the tear thing really spins me sometimes. Often when a family or friend is in crisis, I feel stoic, cold-hearted because the tears just don’t flow. My heart aches, but i can’t express it. God gave us this gift. It is an out-pouring of love from our hearts. Cry yourself a river! I still wish I could. I believe that when I get to heaven, I will sit on his knee and cry like a baby with tears of joy!

    • Wow, Kim. I’m so sorry! Yes, praise God that you are alive! I hope he leads you to another form of expression that feels cathartic. Thank you for your inspiring words. Your attitude is truly beautiful.

  3. Pingback: It’s Been a Year | Spring is in the World

Leave a Reply

