The Prayers That Sustain Us

These past few weeks have been stressful, and I have been struggling to not become overwhelmed by it all.  The upside of this is that I’ve been sleeping very well.  I fall into bed completely exhausted each night.  During the waking hours, it’s hard to find peace in the midst of the craziness.  Last night, I allowed myself the luxury of putting away some clean laundry that had been hanging out in the guest room for several days.  I unloaded and loaded the dishwasher.  It felt restful.  That’s how I know I’m too busy.  I normally hate putting away clean laundry.  🙂  Sometimes these simple, mindless tasks are soothing.  I can feel productive while resting my mind for a few minutes.

Obviously, spending time with God is also helpful.  Seeking God should be my first thought, and it all too often isn’t.  This morning, I found this simple prayer on my desk that I wrote on a sticky note during another busy, stressful time at work several months back.  I’m so glad that I found it when I did.  I needed some PERSPECTIVE.  I needed to be reminded that I have so much more to be thankful for than I have to complain about.  God will give me strength and equip me, and this too shall pass.  🙂

Leave a Reply

