This One’s for the Dreamers

Good evening, friends.  Let’s talk about daydreaming.  Every personality test I’ve ever taken has confirmed what I always knew about myself.  I’m a dreamer.  Maybe some of you can relate?  I’m very future-oriented, and I often dwell on abstract ideas rather than realistic/detail-oriented information.  This is not super-practical for being good at adult life, but oh how I enjoyed studying English literature and creative writing as an undergraduate.  We talked and wrote essays and analyzed novels and poetry and used self-expression to explore societal patterns throughout history and the value of art and the human condition.  (sigh)  It didn’t feel like work.  I was having too much fun.  My nerdy heart was full.  After that it was time to get a more practical degree, and I’m so glad that I chose social work.  It appeals to my deep desire for social justice.  (I’m telling you, there are some great personality tests out there.  I recommend the Enneagram.)

Still, my dreamer tendencies persist.  I find that my quality of life is highest when I am able to dream about possibilities.  If one were to look at my computer’s search history, it might seem random and strange.  But if I could explain, it would quickly become obvious that most of my Google searches are related to some idea I’ve been contemplating.   Most of what I dream about will not come to fruition.  This is fine with me.  That’s not the point.  The point, of course, is to experience in my mind a different experience than what is familiar.  The act of imagining what it would be like and the feeling that anything is possible is exhilarating.

For example, you might see a search for real estate in Maine.  I’ve never been to Maine, but ever since I had kidney surgery when I was 17 and was instructed to drink nothing but cranberry juice and water, I’ve been in love with cranberries.  It follows that if I lived somewhere where they grow cranberries, I would be deliriously happy, right?  You can see where I’m going with this.

Sometimes I imagine living in the Hamptons like the Barefoot Contessa, growing my own herbs and being near the sea where it doesn’t get hot (at least not Texas hot) and you can smell that wonderful, salty air.  I would walk to quaint shops and buy expensive seafood and flower arrangements just because.

Once I saw this picture of the Louisville, KY courthouse all lit up for the holidays.  Isn’t it magical?

One of my favorite professors went to law school in Louisville.  Since then, I’ve imagined living there in a grand old house with hardwood floors and oodles of character.

I love being a student and the whole atmosphere of a university campus, so one of my favorite things to dream about is studying at various universities all over the country.  I will read program descriptions and faculty bios and scroll through campus photos just feeling all lit up inside thinking about possibilities.  My most recent PhD of choice is cultural anthropology.  Somewhere with loads of tall trees with leaves that turn a brilliant shade of orange in the fall.

I could go on, but reality calls.  🙂  Tell me, friends–what do you dream about?

3 responses

  1. Though my dreamer tendencies are weaker than my pragmatic ones, I do daydream about the perfect career, graduate school and long, slow journeys through Asia. I like how you described being fine with dreams not coming true. I think sometimes I am afraid to dream because I want to be content where I am. I even block some people’s “dream house” boards on Pinterest, because I don’t want to get too caught up in always wanting more. However, Dreaming doesn’t have to drive discontent. And I musn’t forget that without dreamers, nothing would ever change or get better. Perhaps I need to brush off that imagination of mine, and allow myself to do a bit more dreaming.

  2. Pingback: Delicious Beverages | Spring is in the World

Leave a Reply

