The Day When Things Went Right

We are preparing to spend a month in my husband’s beloved homeland of Costa Rica.  We leave in just a few days, and I can’t help but reflect on this time last year.  Last July, Bryan and I went to Costa Rica to visit his family as fiances. The first week of our trip, we went with his grandparents and siblings and mom and aunt to the beach in Manuel Antonio, a beautiful national park. It was a wonderful trip (though slightly overwhelming for me with so much Spanish).  I swam in the Pacific and ate fried plantains and an adorable monkey took my future mother-in-law’s sunscreen right out of her bag!  I have included the video I recorded of the incident for your viewing pleasure.

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/44944487″>IMG 0292</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/user12342566″>Kara Rodriguez</a> on <a href=”http://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

After our day at the beach, we opted to take a short cut to the bus stop wading through some nearly waist-deep water. In retrospect, this was probably not a wise decision.  Bryan focused on helping his grandma. I focused on maintaining my balance (always tricky for me), and we both forgot momentarily that we had brought our iPhones to document the trip.  Bryan’s little sister had picked up my purse and had it slung over her shoulder as she forged the creek.  She didn’t remember to lift it above the water. When we arrived at the bus stop, my iPhone (purchased only three days before) was on her deathbed. Bryan’s was not in much better shape.  It was frustrating to say the least.  We were subjected to a month of the voice command feature randomly activating and calling someone (my phone) and a total lack of response even after googling every possible way to fix ocean-soaked iPhones (Bryan’s phone).  Apparently, burying a wet iPhone in rice only works if it’s fresh water, in case you were wondering.  We were sad and discouraged, but we managed to have a wonderful time despite this unexpected “crisis”.

When we returned to Texas, we visited our friendly neighborhood Apple Store prepared to face the consequences of our foolish actions.  To our surprise and delight, I received a new phone for free because of the warranty.  Bryan’s phone was almost a year old, and our hopes  that he would be offered the same deal were meager.  When it was his turn, I walked up to the counter with him.  The Apple guy assessed the damage, looked up at us and declared confidently, “This is your lucky day!”  We walked away with two new phones without having paid a cent.  Maybe this is because the newer model was debuting soon.  Bryan’s theory is that it was because I’m pretty.  He’s sweet but admittedly a bit biased.  I happen to believe that sometimes God just smiles on us.  Sometimes we are reminded in small ways that we are loved, and this was one of those times.  We decided to celebrate by grabbing a late lunch at the Chili’s across the parking lot.  We ordered our food to go so that we could enjoy it at the nearby gardens where Bryan proposed.  Then, out of the blue, the cashier gave me a ginormous (yes, giant and enormous=ginormous) mango tea for free.  We walked happily through the botanic gardens, hand in hand.  Clearly, this was one of those rare days where good things just happen.

It’s easy, it seems, to have days where we notice one frustrating thing after another.  We think to ourselves (and/or post on our facebook statuses), “Ugh!  It’s going to be one of THOSE days.”  You lose your keys, you have a headache, you forgot about an appointment, you make a mistake on a project, you get pulled over for running a red light, etc.  This memory of our day when things when right makes me wonder–could we all have more of these good days if we just looked a little harder?  Bad days are easy to spot, and it’s okay to have a bad day now and then.  In fact, bad days make the good ones that much sweeter.  I am challenging myself to look harder for positive happenings in my life.  Feel free to join me.  Maybe we’ll start a revolution, and someday when people say they’re having one of THOSE days it will be universally acknowledged that they mean a day when things went right!  🙂

Leave a Reply

