Daydreams

Bryan is a student, so I sometimes have time to kill in the evenings while he is studying.  One of my favorite things to do during this time (you know, after I finish chores…) is watch HGTV, which he finds exceedingly dull.  I love to imagine what kind of house we’ll have someday.  I love the details that these shows make you consider.  I have learned that hardwood floors are good for people with allergies, that a good location is more important than cosmetic changes that need to be made, that I would love to have an island in the kitchen and tons of other points to consider.  It’s so much fun to dream about being a homeowner and having the opportunity to decorate and make it a comfortable place where people will feel welcome, where we will (Lord willing) raise little Rodriguezes and make lots of wonderful memories.

I love House Hunters International the most.  I live vicariously through these strangers who are picking up their lives and embracing a new culture.  I get restless sometimes with the routine of an 8 to 5 job and my comfortable life in the U.S.  Travel really is addictive.  After a semester in Oxford during college, my yearning to see the world and experience new scenery, food, people, languages, etc. became exponentially stronger.  This led to my decision to go to language school in Costa Rica after grad school, where I fell in love with the man that is now my husband.  (And yes, he has an adorable Spanish accent.)  That’s a story for another day.  Where was I?  Oh yes!  Traveling and HGTV.  Yesterday I found a fun architecture quiz that I wanted to share with you.  Here is my result:

You’re a lively Spanish Colonial!

Like a Spanish Colonial home, you are warm with an eye toward the romance of living. While you are traditional and can be a little introverted, you are also enlivened with impulsive flairs of color that amuse and energize your friends and family. Spanish Colonial homes take a simple construction style and add artistic details like painted tiles, iron fixtures, and huge carved doors denoting, like you, a love of art and individuality. Your combination of down-to-earth fun and elegance puts everyone at ease.
Learn more about Spanish Colonial architecture

I think a Spanish Colonial would suit me very well.  🙂  If you’re interested, you can take the quiz here.  It will take you roughly ten minutes.  Enjoy!

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Architecture | The Ramblings of a Redhead…

Leave a Reply

